I Think I Finally Have a Costume

As I mentioned in the last post (Design Crazy), one of the benefits of our ever-slipping shoot date means that I can keep revising our original plans. Niko, my character, the terrorist program created by the Isomorphs to fight against Clu’s forces, has only had fragments of a costume until now, only ever visualized in really uber-crappy, nauseating, gag-inducing sketches.

It might have been drawn in 40 seconds with a fat Sharpie and a silver pen, but that’s no excuse for crappiness.

He originally just had a turtleneck thing. Then a coat. Then a parakeet. Then a Venetian blind. Seriously, guys, it was a bad scene. I’m pretty sure at one point I just gave up entirely and decided I’d shoot the movie totally naked and just put the Tron-style glow over my naughty bits.

Fortunately for my career (and unfortunately for the ladies), I think I’ve finally come up with something half-decent. It started when I finally cracked the back of what my helmet would look like when our cinematographer observed that I have a pretty face (when I’m not grimacing at terrible costume designs) and shouldn’t cover it completely.

Niko's Helmet

This was when Niko still had a coat. It is now way too warm for that.

Anyway, I got back to drawing tonight because I needed something new. I couldn’t be fighting Kadij looking like crap. Not when Lesley was going to be covered from head to toe in TOTAL SCREAMING AWESOME. And to revise what I just wrote a moment ago: I need something. Because Niko really had nothing. Seriously lamesauce. So I came up with this.

Niko now looks less like a pair of Tron-licensed pyjamas and more like a badass.

Oh yeah–click any of these to embiggen, by the way, as per usual.

Now, I’ve done two things with this costume design. One, set the tone for the costume so I can, you know, make the damn thing. But I’ve also set a fitness goal for myself in this drawing, and I’m more or less on the road to getting there thanks to a renewed interest in P90X. I’m hopeful that I can hit the tone hinted at in this drawing, particularly the well-defined shoulders.

With still several weeks to go until shooting, I think I can get there.

What else, now.

Oh yes: tomorrow night (May 17) Lesley and I are meeting with Amber to go over shots, continue storyboarding, keep planning, etc. This weekend, May 21, Lesley, Amber, and I are meeting with our extras, Flynn, Greg, and Luc, to rehearse, fit costumes, and generally ensure that this project will be freaking awesome.

I am going to bail now and do something totally unrelated in any way to Tron.

Paddle your own canoe, guys and gals,

-Trevor

About Trevor

Teacher, writer, podcaster. Obsessed with tech and paddling, politics and entertainment. Nerd extraordinaire, and handsome to boot. You can find his work over on the Spillway network and his home on the web, Love.Make.Share. View all posts by Trevor

One response to “I Think I Finally Have a Costume

Leave a Reply

